h1

voices – IF (Dec 19, 2008)

December 20, 2008

Topic: voices
Function: transitive verb
Inflected Form(s): voiced voic·ing
Date: 15th century

1 : to express in words : utter 2 : to adjust for producing the proper musical sounds 3 : to pronounce (as a consonant) with voice

voices - IF (Dec 19, 2008)

voices - IF (Dec 19, 2008)

My first submission to IF is based on my overwhelming feelings of anxiety and depression at the time of creation. It is a digital, collage/assemblage piece created in Photoshop. It started with digital photographs I had taken and background images by nevermoregraphix and irisb477. The font used is Sketch Rockwell by ARTill.

My phone is buzzing, I don’t answer. The sound grates on my nerves. Bzz bzzz. Bzz bzzz. Missed call. Voicemail message. How many now? Three? Four? I don’t bother checking.

I should appreciate that I have people in my life who care about me. I do care, just not today.

I don’t want to hear their voices, “Where are you? Why haven’t you returned my call? Are you OK?”

I know I should be a better friend. There’s a lot that I should do. I should work on my portfolio. I should clean the house. I should take the dogs out. They haven’t had a walk in weeks. I don’t even want to leave the house. I’m tired. I slept all day, but I’m still so tired.

The phone is buzzing again. It’s my mum. She’s been calling all day. Why can’t I answer? Another missed call. Another voicemail message. I want to go back to bed.

Illustration Friday is a weekly illustration challenge. A topic is posted every Friday and then participants have all week to come up with their own interpretation.

7 comments

  1. Beautiful combination of text and imagery! You “should” do what makes you happy. Peace


  2. The way the type covers the face very clearly expresses how overwhelming all those voices can be! It’s a very effective and powerful illustration. And as far as that long list of things you have to so – instead of “shoulding” on yourself… just think about what you could do and do what feels right at the moment. Take care of yourself 🙂


  3. I love the text overlapping…very interesting.


  4. Wonderful illustration – I really like it!
    Good luck getting to do the things you really should do..;-)


  5. I really love your illustration. It really captures what you are feeling. Really very powerful.
    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Now is the only moment that matters. Those voices can’t exist if you are here, right now, in the moment. Take care.


  6. I have to remind myself every single day.


  7. Great work!



Leave a comment